Skip to content

Telemarketers and Me, or learning to hang up

6 December 2016

When I was in Jacksonville, FL, I did not have a problem being polite to telemarketers. I said, “I’m sorry. I just can’t do this right now.” They said, “Okay. Have a good day.” And then they went away and left me alone. I never had repeat calls or any reason to be impolite on the phone.

I had a serious problem with even the idea of hanging up on any phone call for any reason. I did not have a problem with setting the phone down and wandering off for a while—I did that to ex-boyfriends who called to continue the fight we had broken up about—but I did have a problem with actually hanging up.

When I moved to Provo, UT, I started getting calls from telemarketers who would not take a polite “no” for an answer. I once spent half an hour on the phone with someone who wanted me to get a newspaper subscription. I did not want a subscription (because they tend to pile up), and I told the caller why as part of my polite refusal. The caller continued to try to sell the subscription. I told him that I was never going to get a subscription, so he should accept that and let me go. He came up with other reasons why I should get a subscription.

I let him keep talking. I changed the subject to pets and weather, but I was not going to change my mind about the subscription. I told him that I hated to waste his time. I told him that I remembered when I was a telemarketer (in Jax, FL, for a very short time) we were told to make as many calls in as short a time as possible. If we got a no, then we were to politely end the call and try someone else. I suggested that he should try that method. He said he was sure that he could get me to change my mind. I told him he could go ahead and try.

We were on the phone for a remarkably long time. I remember that I was able to stretch the cord into the kitchen to get dinner for the kids while he continued to tell me about why I wanted a subscription. I continued to listen politely for a while and then change the subject when I saw an opening. I regularly reminded him that I had already told him no.

I don’t remember how long this went on, but it was at least 45 minutes. I remember being shocked that he had not gotten yelled at by his boss. I did finally get him to agree to hang up.

I spoke with many telemarketers in Provo this way. This was my first experience with telemarketers who would not take a polite refusal for an answer. I was amused at first because I thought it was just a few determined go-getters, but after a while, I realized that this was their culture. They could not believe that someone could keep saying no, so they just kept asking until they got a yes. They were counting on polite people giving in because it was the polite thing to do. This was a very annoying realization. I had special needs children to raise, and I had things to do. I was getting tired of spending half an hour or more on the phone with strangers who were trying to exploit the rules of a polite society.

I still could not hang up on them, though. I could say no in a thousand different polite ways, but I could not hang up on a phone call.

I remember one particularly entertaining conversation that I had with a telemarketer shortly after I had been working with one of my autistic children on her carrier phrases. I had told the caller, “No, thank you. I don’t need [one of those].” and she kept selling. So, I told her, “Okay. I said, ‘No, thank you.’ Now, what do you say?” She went to selling again, so I repeated myself, “No. I said, ‘No thank you.’ Now, what do you say? You say, ‘Okay. Thank you for your time. Have a good night.’” She continued trying to sell me on her product, so I said it again, as if I were talking to a child much slower-witted than any of my special needs kids, “No. I said, ‘No thank you.’ Now, you say, ‘Okay. Thank you for your time. Have a good night.’ Go ahead. You can do it.” This went on for a short time, but, as I kindly explained to her, I have two autistic children, so I can repeat things for a very, very long time and never lose my temper.

She eventually gave me the proper response, to which I encouragingly replied, “That was very good! I knew you could do it! Good night now!” And she hung up.

I used that one a few times. It was fun every single time.

I did eventually learn to hang up on telemarketers. I really had to. I wasn’t in Florida anymore, and the telemarketers I was encountering in the West (and later in the Midwest) were just determined to force people to be rude to them. I started out very politely explaining that I was going to hang up now, and I was very sorry. Eventually, I could just hang up without explanation as soon as they did not respond properly to my polite refusal.

Once I learned to hang up on telemarketers, I was able to hang up on other people, too. I hung up on my sister when she started saying racist words about the President in 2009. I hung up on my ex-husband in 2011 when he started calling me names on the phone or when he otherwise tried to bully me into giving him his way. I can also now hang up on businesses or bureaucrats who refuse to move past their, “but that’s the way we’ve always done it” mentality. I hung up on a dentist’s receptionist just the other day because she would not commit to assuring me that her dentist was a kind person who would not scream at the office workers or make the patients cry. In fact, she got pretty snippy about it. She seemed to think that if I wanted to know what kind of a person the dentist is, I should just show up on appointment day and see for myself. So, I hung up on her.

I was paralyzed for a very long time by my inability to hang up on people. I couldn’t do it. I went to great lengths to avoid it.

Now I may be mad with power.

From → Miscellaneous

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

frameshop

politics | insight | action

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

(Somewhat) Daily News from the World of Literary Nonfiction

Barracuda Mom

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

An Atheist With a Tarot Deck

An Atheist With a Tarot Deck - Exploring the Inner Mysteries

Marlene's Thoughts

Confidently being weird since 1978

days like crazy paving

the life, times and ramblings of jaythenerdkid. probably not safe for children.

Ranking America

a site for information about the U.S.

Amanda Bumgarner

Professional Editor

The Editor's Blog

Write well. Write often. Edit wisely.

This is Not a Website

Under Construction

February People

Turn your weight loss resolution into a weight loss revolution

Sex with Timaree

Edu-tainment on the most important topic of all

Critters and Chaos

Critters, Plants, Life, Keeping in Touch

Mark Allen Editorial

Thoughts on journalism and copy editing, including grammar, usage and style. For more about me, click My Home Page to go to www.markalleneditorial.com.

The N!colas Blog

~a twentysomething journey~

Marlene Sowder

Confidently being weird since 1978

Madam Grammar

Words, language, editing

