Skip to content

Opening Statement

6 September 2013

I am not a writer. I am an editor. When I write, I tend to constantly edit myself in an effort to make everything exactly right. Unfortunately, this means that most of my writings never make it to publication. It takes me weeks to write a simple email. Okay, maybe not weeks, but certainly days.

Even still, I cannot resist having thoughts that I want to share with anyone who is willing to listen. I post in forums. I post in comment sections. I get into flame wars, usually by accident, with random internet trolls.

Sometimes, though, I want to share these thoughts on purpose with a wider audience. For instance, the post right after this one was inspired by a picture I saw while I was wandering the internet.

The purpose of this blog, then, is to mention the things that I think need mentioning. I am going to try to stay focused on writing and editing type topics, but I do tend to get rather excited about a variety of other topics as well. I am also going to try to avoid the problem I have with editing myself into silence. I self-consciously think this means that you will not be getting my best work, but realistically I think it means that I will still do my best, I just won’t kill myself trying to be perfect. I am going to try to save the editing for the writers who need me. For you, I am going to just write and see what happens.

Edited to Add (ETA): Apparently, it also means that I will publish, then go back and try to clarify what I meant. I will try to keep that to a minimum, as well.

Things I Do That Might Be Considered Strange: I name every new file in my computer with the date (year, month, day), then whatever I think it should be named. I started doing this only for pictures, but it has spread throughout my system.

From → Miscellaneous

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

frameshop

politics | insight | action

BREVITY's Nonfiction Blog

(Somewhat) Daily News from the World of Literary Nonfiction

Barracuda Mom

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

An Atheist With a Tarot Deck

An Atheist With a Tarot Deck - Exploring the Inner Mysteries

Marlene's Thoughts

Confidently being weird since 1978

days like crazy paving

the life, times and ramblings of jaythenerdkid. probably not safe for children.

Ranking America

a site for information about the U.S.

Amanda Bumgarner

Professional Editor

The Editor's Blog

Write well. Write often. Edit wisely.

This is Not a Website

Under Construction

February People

Turn your weight loss resolution into a weight loss revolution

Sex with Timaree

Edu-tainment on the most important topic of all

Critters and Chaos

Critters, Plants, Life, Keeping in Touch

Mark Allen Editorial

Thoughts on journalism and copy editing, including grammar, usage and style. For more about me, click My Home Page to go to www.markalleneditorial.com.

The N!colas Blog

~a twentysomething journey~

Marlene Sowder

Confidently being weird since 1978

Madam Grammar

Words, language, editing

